Drake – So Far Gone Mixtape

13 Mar

I like my emcees arrogant.  Rap lyrics with a hefty dose of bravado otherwise they lack flavour. Admit it: punch lines combined with a certain amount of cockiness is often what leads to classic material.

Last month Drake released a “mixtape” (I love how we’re holding on to the “tape”) called So Far Gone with 17 tracks so-far-gone-front-coverand guests spots by Trey Songz, Lil’ Wayne, Santo Gold and a few other friends. Besides talent, young boy’s persona exudes a cockiness I kind of like: seemingly effortless and consequently far from corny.

When Boi -1da told me during an interview back in 2006 that he was working with an emcee named Drake, who in his opinion was one of the best lyricists out, I had to hold in my laughter. Really? “Jimmy” from Degrassi (Canadian TV show) is an emcee AND he’s good? I figured it was Boi’s youth speaking, turning “good” into “the G.O.A.T.” But respect due, Aubrey Graham/Drake has managed to successfully distance two sides of the same coin.

Some listeners will have to take him in short doses because, understandably, too much of anything makes you annoyed. To his credit, Drizzy does take off the mask and show some vulnerability (rare, but it happens) a few times on So Far Gone.

Brothers with confidence are infinitely more attractive than the herb who is always second-guessing himself and I hear it’s the same on the flip side. The same principle holds true in the rap world. And that rumoured line that separates confidence from arrogance, like good from evil, might not actually exist.

-Alison

*I’ve chosen the word “persona” carefully, I’m not just trying to sound fancy. I meant persona, as in character, role, front. I’m old enough to know better than believe every story I hear in a rhyme.  I grew up listening to lot of Boot Camp Clik…loved them. And when I met most of them at an interview session, I was pleased that they were extremely friendly, well-mannered young men. A storyteller’s worth is in the way s/he tells the story.

9 Responses to “Drake – So Far Gone Mixtape”

  1. sb March 14, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    the kid has swag… whatever that means…
    plus the city on his back… whatever that means
    review on point as usual

  2. Alison March 14, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    lol…definitely has swag….although a few might argue who’s carrying who. But that’s Hip Hop…

    Thanks for the love…respect.

  3. Sewit April 3, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    My lil bro is borderline obsessed with this cat…will have to check him out…soon.

    LOL @ “herb who’s always second guessing himself.” Truer words have never been spoken…

  4. hoodman April 3, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    hi al-ee-son(the “n” is silent) its hoody…listen to his first 2 mixtapes…not as much singing but still very tough

  5. slam duncan April 4, 2009 at 7:04 am #

    hmmmm… Alison, love the write up. Really do. Agree with all you said – except this. Something strikes me a bit off with Mr. Aubrey aka Drake. I think I’m the only one who feels this way in Toronto as everyone on facebook and otherwise is quoting this lyric or that lyric from Drizzy (so sick of izzy this and izzy that… I mean come on, its from freakin lil Wayne and them being on syrup all the time having that “lean” not being able to remember words so just ending everythign with izzy. lmao. I’m so cheeky

    As for boot click camp – Ya girl! I liked them too. Who woulda thunk it. First rap concert I went to see (soooo ackward though – to be explained). So to end this off, I can’t help but think of “Drake’s” highly priviledged past (Forest Hill, parents in the biz) and think… boy, who you playing and sooooo, your use of persona is key I think. Because then who am I to judge who he can and can’t be or become and what persona he chooses to project. I just miss the days when people were real. You know??? So yeah, I’m a bit ambivalent about Mr. Drizzy and all his talk of “success” and “girls” and and and. lol. LOVIN the blog ladies 🙂

  6. Alison April 9, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    Sewit – Definitely check him out. Because I was so quick to write him off, I’ve been having to play catch up.

    Hoodman – Good hearing from you! Thanks, I’d actually prefer less singing…I’ll peep them.

    Duncan – Thanks for the feedback. The thing about Drake though, is that I don’t find his rap persona to be in contradiction with his actual privileged past. Give him a listen…talks a lot about women and money, and I’d guess young boy’s got a lot of both.

  7. waynehead101023 April 11, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    First off! Drake is gonne TOTALLY change and kill da game! He is as ill as it gets!Personally, i love every song on So Far Gone and listen to Drake every single day and i dnt think its too much and i just cant get enough!He’s so versatile and i think he does just enough rapping and singing!Not many can do either but he does both O-so-WELL! -Jelly Jade loves Aubrey “Drake”Graham(nd weezy)a/f!!!!

  8. Paola(: October 13, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    Hes mine lol
    he is going to b very successfull! well hes already:)

    yup yup!!
    maybe a lil bit better than lil wayne tho!
    😀

  9. Paola(: October 13, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    Hes mine lol
    he is going to b very successfull! well hes already:)

    yup yup!!
    maybe a lil bit better than lil wayne tho!
    😀
    DRAKE&PAOLA!

Leave a Reply

