Do you know what I love? (shhh, don’t tell anyone…LOL)

3 Mar

So last night I fell asleep with my TV (and light) on, at about 9:45pm . It was a restless sleep. And the volume from the TV woke me up around 1am…. but I was still too tired to get up, so I went back to bed – TV on, lights out. More restless sleep until I was awoken, again, by my television at 3:14am, yeah, my sleep has been really shitty of late… But this is not really a post about that… I’m actually here to make a confession…

I love Time Life Music commercials!!!! tlmusic There it is… I said it! Please tell me I’m not the only one….LOL. I know they are corny, the production values are low…I mean they are nowhere near Super Bowl commercial territory. But they are the one infomercial that you can be sure I’m gonna sit and watch from beginning to end. I know that Time Life is just trying to convince me that “5 easy payments of 39.97” is a steal since I would have to “scour the internet and search for hours and not have a collection like this”, when in reality, yeah it would take time but I would probably just download the songs that I really want (real talk!). But there have been many times where I have been, oooohh…this close, to calling NOW and giving them my credit card information so that in addition to whatever collection they are hawking, at the time, I’d get the 2 bonus CDs!!! Not to mention the FREE shipping and handling…not too shabby.

And it doesn’t matter the genre, I’ll watch any Time Life commercial because they are only trying to sell me the best songs and biggest hits! On this morning it was:

Flower Power: Music of the Love Generation!flower-power3

As you can probably surmise from the pictures in the “About Us” section this is not the music of MY generation; my generation’s music would probably be hip hop or maybe that gangsta, New Jack Swing R&B (think: Bell Biv Devoe) from the early 90s. But my connection to the most well known songs of the 70s, well of course that has always been strong. And while I can’t legitimately “relive the powerful songs and artists that were such a part of our lives”, I’ve managed to make my own personal connections using those songs and my experiences. For example:

– Brown Eyed Girl – Van Morrison…I just adore this song! Makes me think of the TTC subway performer that plays a lot in the corridor between Yorkdale Mall and Yorkdale Station in the summers…This may be the only song he knows how to play…lol.

A big part of the 70s (for white people) was Woodstock… I immediately think pheasant skirts and people rolling in the mud. Still, some of my best loved songs came out of that era and movement… and of course were featured prominently in the commercial.

– Joe Crocker – A Little Help from my Friends (@ Woodstock) – You only REALLY need to watch as far as dude “catching the spirit”…priceless!

– Jimi Hendrix – Hey Joe (@ Woodstock) – Correct me if I’m wrong but is there a guitar riff that Jazmine Sullivan has on her song “My Foolish Heart”? I think so…. that song uses a great sample from GZAs Liquid Sword’s beat. If you’re gonna borrow, borrow from the best, right? And just by way of strange randomness involving Eddie Murphy…apparently he has a version of “Hey Joe” too. Go figure.

Satisfied customer Donna Grace had this to say:  “If you weren’t listening to music, you were missing the message of the day”. It really was like their newspaper so much of what was going on at that time was documented in the songs…and can be mine for 5 easy payments of blah, blah, blah…get to the music…lol. This was a particularly good “set”… “Ball of Confusion” – The Temptations, “War” – Edwin Starr and of course…

“What’s Going On” – Marvin Gaye

There are a lot of reasons the Time Life formula is such a success with me…the commercials are like the best DJ ever!!! None of this playing the whole song business, just the hook, (the part that I will know), and then on to the next hit song. What’s not to love? Plus, the song title and artist are rolling across the screen so I don’t even have to wonder who created the masterpieces. And the whole thing comes with detailed liner notes – I LOVE liner notes.

So as the commercial drew to a close and they reiterated the merits of their musical sales pitch for the third and final time, a sleepy smile crossed my face. And finally with that music bouncing around in my head to act as my lullaby I turned off my TV (also because the next infomercial was the extremely annoying one with Hugh Downs selling some secret health remedies that are SO secret you can’t know what any of them are… (you left 20/20 and put your co-sign on this? Jeeesh… at least Barbara had the good sense to start something legit like the View)) and lay in my bed… then I looked over at my laptop and decided to write this… I’m gonna be SOOOO tired today. Tired, but full of Flower Power.

The preceding was not meant to be an ad for Time Life even though it may have come across that way. This message does reflect the viewpoint of Imani Monique although not necessicarily the views of Project Bassline…but you have to admit the songs are pretty damn fly!

5 Responses to “Do you know what I love? (shhh, don’t tell anyone…LOL)”

  1. jenjen March 4, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    Awwwww you just made my morning (early – too early morning. My sleeping is also alllll messed up AND you also made my day because I’ve had the softest spot for Van Morrison since I first heard it from my Mom’s reminiscing about the 70’s and her love for my brown eyes (she has blue ones). Thank you thank you. I’m so happy I’m not the only one who loves that song. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to watch one of these commercials without now thinking about you. Thanks Imani Monique for the (much too) early morning smile 🙂

  2. Sewit March 4, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    Mo…you are truly a woman after my own heart!!!! i love love love the time life infomercials…and I’ve always been on the verge of ordering but haven’t yet…lol…..too funny…thanks for the videos…great selections!

    oh yeah and …ditto on “the commercials are like the best DJ ever!”

    i couldn’t agree more…

  3. Imani Monique March 5, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    @ Jen – You’re welcome!

  4. Imani Monique March 5, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    Awww Sewit, they are the best aren’t they? I’m so glad I’m not alone in this lonely world. There IS someone who is as big a nerd as I am. 🙂

  5. Ben Reid March 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    *giggles*…. Although I do not share in the love and adoration for the ’70s Time Life Commercials, I do really love some of the compilations that they put together… I must admit though that when I heard one grace my tv set I found myself up and out of my home office and into the living room to take it in up close…

    “Shivers Through Me” is the only phrase I could use to adequately express the feelin’ I felt when I heard all my favorite show jams from the 80s and 90s… Don’t you wish you could go back and visit these times we speak of?

    Kinda makes me think a bit though… Are we gettin’ up in our age? Cuz I only remember Time Life putting collections together for my Mom back in the day… Now they’re targeting me? – *Sniffles* Still luv’m…

    Great post I’M…

Leave a Reply

