Thanks Erykah! (Erykah Badu and Jay Electronica have a baby!)

2 Feb

Today I was in a hip hop mood all afternoon! I’m an R&B girl at heart, but every once in awhile you just need something to get you amped! I was head nodding HARD to what little hip hop I have in my iPod…which probably made the folks on the GO Train very nervous… I had never heard of Jay Electronica before I read that he and Erykah Badu welcomed her 3rd lil baby into the world yesterday. (She loves her some rappers doesn’t she? I ain’t mad at that!!!) I figured I’d give her boyfriend a listen, I mean she’s so fly her man must be too, right? Ms. Badu has yet to lead me astray…lol. His music fit my mood perfectly :).

~I’M

*Congratulations to Erykah Badu and Jay Electronica on the birth of their little baby girl!!! Can’t wait to hear what they decide to name her….

*Update* Folks have had a lot to say about Ms. Badu and some of her choices, this is her “Hi, haters” rebuttal: http://tellitlikeitiz.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/erykah-badu-goes-nuts-on-her-fans/

Jay Electronica – “I Feel Good”

So now that I’ve been introduced to Jay Electronica, which other songs of his should I check for next… Suggestions?

5 Responses to “Thanks Erykah! (Erykah Badu and Jay Electronica have a baby!)”

  1. Suraiya February 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    I heard it through the grapevine that they’ve named the poor thing “Twitty Milk.” I hope that’s just rumor…

    I bet there’s a bunch of groupies out there, wondering what it is that Erykah’s got, that they don’t…3 babies by 3 rappers…plus Common on the resume. Wow…impressive.

  2. Imani Monique February 3, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    Oh my gosh….please say NO! “Twitty Milk”, that’s just mean. Parents shouldn’t give bully’s ammunition. And I thought “Seven” was out there…

    I heard that Raphael Saadiq was scared to look her in her eyes for fear that he’d get sucked into her love vortex… she’s got what rappers want…lol

  3. tiiz February 27, 2009 at 11:33 pm #

    I see you stopped by my site. Thanks. I love a great discussion. Thanks for adding to it. The baby’s name is ….”Mars Merkaba”. I also noticed that you only read ONE of my articles then commented. I recommend reading both!

    http://tellitlikeitiz.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/baby-daddy-drama-is-erykah-badu-exempt-from-criticism/

    Hope you join in more in the future!

  4. jenjen March 2, 2009 at 7:48 am #

    Love it! Where can ur girl get his music. About to go on myspace and see what I can find… any other ideas???

  5. Imani Monique March 2, 2009 at 9:05 am #

    Thanks for your comment jenjen! I’m hearing his name “in the streets” more and more. And, not just because he’s Erykah’s beau…lol. I really like his voice so definitely let me know what you find…

Leave a Reply

